National Prostate Cancer Awareness Month

September is national prostate cancer awareness month.

My dad was diagnosed with prostate cancer when I was a junior in high school. This cancer thing was hard to understand and very hard to cope with at first. In my eyes my dad was invincible (I mean isn’t that what we all think about our dads?). His cancer was VERY aggressive. This journey has been a roller coaster to say the least. My dad has endured countless treatments, pains/side effects from all the different treatments, surgery,  and many “bad days” as we call them. On one of our trips to M.D. Anderson I found a shirt in the gift shop :

and this shirt couldn’t be any more true. I never imagined that my dad would end up with cancer and have to go through what he has. I never thought that this would be where we would end up, or that we would be doing the things that we do. However with that being said I can honestly say that I wouldn’t have it any other way. My dad has impacted many lives, and the people that we have come in contact with have impacted our lives as well. The lessons that we have learned along the way are immeasurable. We have had many laughs and many tears. However one thing has remained the same from day one, my dad refuses to give up. He doesn’t let the cancer win. My dad has shown me what it means to love, how to keep going in the tough times, and how to give everything 100%. I know that God has a purpose for my dad’s life and I consider myself blessed that I get to be a part of his journey. I am one VERY proud daughter.


  
  

For more information regarding prostate cancer you can visit:   http://www.cancer.org/cancer/prostatecancer/

“Cancer is a word, not a sentence.” John Diamon

2 thoughts on “National Prostate Cancer Awareness Month

  1. Lee ann rollins

    Yes sweetie !! You do have an awesome dad …. & I am proud to call him my cousin!!! Love you cousin– God is using him for good & he has been such willing vessel–what an inspiration you are— lifting you up Michael Swaim – blessings ❤💜

  2. Michael Swaim

    What can I say but I love with all my heart. I am a VERY proud dad. I hope that this walk will strengthen your faith in God just as it has mine. Remember Isaiah 40
    7 The grass withers and the flowers fall,
    because the breath of the Lord blows on them.
    Surely the people are grass.
    8 The grass withers and the flowers fall,
    but the word of our God endures forever.”

    Give thanks for this time God has given us.

Leave a Reply

